← Frontier Inference Margins · all research reports

In today's words — The labels on this page grade the ATTRIBUTION — which margin an analyst is talking about — not whether the analyst's number is true. They were renamed STATED / IMPLIED / OUR READING in this release for exactly that reason.
Research artifact — each page states its own provenance class in its header: verbatim originals carry SHA-256 stamps; adopted-findings summaries and reconstructions say so explicitly. Conclusions are synthesized (and where needed corrected) in the main report; each page carries its own run date.

Why analyst margin figures diverge — which margin each source is talking about, verified claim by claim

Status: VERIFIED 2026-08-23 (America/Dawson_Creek 2026-08-22). Attributions below were established by two independent, blind research arms over the same brief — a GPT-5.6 Pro deep dive (broker request pr-20260823T020913Z-d0fe55, 2026-08-23) and a Fable 5 native-search arm (WebSearch / WebFetch / Brave; the Exa index was out of credits on this host and is stated as such in the arm's provenance header) — then merged by the director. Both arms quote the sources' own words with dates; where the arms disagree the disagreement is shown. Labels: STATED = the source states the object or basis in its own words · IMPLIED = the source's own numbers or method imply it, but it does not say so · OUR READING = our attribution, with the reason given. This ladder grades the ATTRIBUTION — which margin a source is talking about — not whether the source's figure is true. Arithmetic in §2 was re-derived independently by both arms. The owner's reading that prompted this page was stated as probable, not as fact; the verdict on it is in §4.

1. Four different objects get called "margin"

Object What is in the cost side What this page shows it as
Rental-inclusive unit serving margin the price a lab pays to RENT accelerator-hours (the lessor's economics sit inside the rent), plus the serving stack card 1 ("rental-inclusive")
Own-accelerator unit serving margin the lab's own TCO for the accelerator-hour: capex amortisation, datacenter shell, electricity × PUE, opex — no lessor card 2 ("owned / TCO")
Cohort contribution margin (e.g. "paid-user compute margin") a cohort's revenue minus the inference cost of serving that cohort, over that cohort's revenue — broader than a token, narrower than the company not this page's metric; cited in §3 with its definition
Company or product gross margin whatever the company's disclosed accounting policy classifies in COGS or contra-revenue — definitions differ and control comparability not this page's metric (every tile says "not a company gross margin")

The first two are the same unit (a token served) on two procurement bases, comparable only when model, token mix, cache rate, latency target, batch, utilisation, fleet membership and retained serving overhead are held fixed — which is what the two cards do. The third and fourth are different objects. The durable editorial rule this page adopts: never inherit a basis from an analyst's name; attach the basis to the individual claim, and where the source is silent say "basis not stated by the source; shown under both bases."

2. The arithmetic that links the two unit bases

Let C be the lab's own all-in cost per token on owned accelerators and P the price per token. Own-accelerator margin m_own = 1 − C/P. A lessor whose cost for the same capacity is C and who earns margin m_L on its revenue charges R = C / (1 − m_L), so the renting lab's margin is

m_rent = 1 − R/P = 1 − (1 − m_own) / (1 − m_L), equivalently (1 − m_rent) = k · (1 − m_own) with k = 1/(1 − m_L) the rent-over-cost multiple; and in reverse m_own = 1 − (1 − m_rent)(1 − m_L).

Worked at m_own = 95% (P = 20 C):

lessor margin m_L rent multiple k rental-inclusive margin m_rent
0% 1.00× 95.0%
40% 1.67× 91.7%
50% 2.00× 90.0% — price is 10× the rental cost; rent is 2× the owned cost
60% 2.50× 87.5%
67.6% (exact) 3.09× 84.6% (84.5% if 67.6% is itself a rounded, back-solved figure)

So the framing "a 95% own-accelerator margin survives a lessor's cut at ~90%" is right: the markup multiplies the small cost side, not the price side. Two conditions the identity rests on, stated so nobody reads m_L as a named lessor's accounting gross margin: (i) it assumes the lessor's relevant cost base equals the modelled owned-capacity cost C — real lessors and self-owners differ in procurement discounts, financing, useful life, utilisation, residual value, PUE and shared overhead, so in practice k is rent ÷ the lab's modelled TCO, and "m_L" is 1 − 1/k, an implied quantity; (ii) the multiple applies only to the cost the lessor replaces — retained serving costs (orchestration, networking, support) should be added separately rather than scaled.

This page's own numbers, read that way: at the page's defaults the rental-inclusive stress case reads ≈58% and the same state owned reads ≈88%, i.e. k = 0.4211/0.1226 ≈ 3.43 — a 3.43× rent/TCO multiple, equivalent to a 71% implied lessor margin or a 243% markup over the page's modelled TCO. Card 1 prints it as an implied spread over modelled TCO, never as an observed lessor margin. (Re-measured from the shipped engine at each release.)

3. The cited claims, attributed one by one

Claim (≤30 words) Source · date Object Basis statement Label
"600K rented TPUs … we estimate the cost to Anthropic to be $1.60 per TPU-hour from GCP" SemiAnalysis, TPUv7: Google Takes a Swing at the King, 2025-11-28 rental-inclusive accelerator-hour input explicit: "inclusive of Google's margin stacking" STATED
"~52% lower TCO per effective PFLOP compared to GB300 NVL72" (the 400k bought TPUs, same article) SemiAnalysis, 2025-11-28 own-accelerator (TCO) explicit: the directly purchased phase STATED
InferenceMAX: the TCO model "provides both total cost of ownership per GPU as well as Neocloud rental market prices"; the displayed $/M analysis is for "operators that are owning chips" SemiAnalysis, 2025-10-09 method spans BOTH bases; the shown curves are own-accelerator explicit STATED
InferenceX glossary: $/M = TCO($/chip-hour) × 1,000,000 / (3600 × tok/s/chip); Rubin-vs-GB200 article: "operator ownership scenario (not rental prices)" SemiAnalysis / InferenceX, 2026-07-23 and glossary own-accelerator unit explicit STATED
"GB300 NVL72 delivers ~17× the best H100 config in FP8 and ~32× in FP4 … software alone 14×" @SemiAnalysis_, 2026-06-27 throughput only — acquires a basis only when divided by a rental or TCO hourly rate n/a STATED
Opus API-token margins "north of 80 percent" Dylan Patel, Sequoia podcast transcript, 2026-06-30 unit API-token margin, rental-capacity framing ("every GPU I rent…") immediate context only; worksheet unpublished IMPLIED
"Anthropic's gross margins were −94% in 2024" (later "38% in 2025 … mid 60s") @SemiAnalysis_, 2026-03-27 / 2026-05-27 company inference gross margin line (a business line's GM) SemiAnalysis's own label STATED
"Anthropic … first gross profit in Q2 … slightly over $1B of operating profit in Q3" Dylan Patel, RAISE Summit, rec. 2026-07-09, pub. 2026-07-16 — the only retrievable text is a session summary; the transcript could not be retrieved by either arm company financials (gross profit / operating profit), not a unit margin OUR READING; see §5 correction 2
"OpenAI's company-wide gross margin … ~55% … ~65% excluding free tier" same appearance (summary) company GM + a cohort-adjusted company cut "company-wide", "free tier" OUR READING; the "~30%" and "~50%" starting points on the main page are NOT in any retrievable source — see §5
"I see 70–90 tps … ≈$4.4 at $0.87/Mt. H100 spot prices are now $2.4/hr. DS has at least 50% margin." @teortaxesTex, 2026-06-27 rental-inclusive unit serving (spot $/GPU-hr) explicit spot price STATED
"math for DeepSeek / Serving Opus is at most $4/1Mt" @teortaxesTex, 2026-06-28 (quoting the post above) unit serving cost; best read as DeepSeek-anchored, rental-priced arithmetic; the exact Opus rate is unstated basis-silent; indexed as "math for DeepSeek" IMPLIED
"they'll just increase the batch size … drive margins from 90% to 95%" @teortaxesTex, 2026-06-27 (about "every western provider", not Opus) unit serving margin, procurement basis absent none OUR READING → "basis not stated by the source; shown under both bases"
"What they technically mean is that they have a markup of 545%" @teortaxesTex, 2025-03-02 markup on cost, not margin on revenue DeepSeek's lease-cost arithmetic STATED
"At least xAI isn't juicing up the gross margins to 90%-95% and scamming consumers / Although the cached token could be cheaper" @zephyr_z9, 2026-07-08 (quoting the Grok 4.5 pricing page) likely token/product margin; a NEGATIVE claim about xAI; names no comparison lab; no rent/TCO basis none OUR READING → "basis not stated by the source; shown under both bases"
"To hit $10B/yr they will need to adopt Anthropic/OAI tactics and serve tokens at 5x the current price (95% GM)" @zephyr_z9, 2026-06-24 token pricing vs cost; names Anthropic/OpenAI; basis unstated none OUR READING (the Fable arm surfaced this post; the main page's "not Anthropic-specific" sentence is corrected in §5)
"70% GM and 15%–20% FCF margin / Anthropic is printing cash now" @zephyr_z9, 2026-06-24 company GM pairing with FCF margin STATED
"Anthropic lowered its projected 2025 gross margin to 40% …" (38% including free-chatbot inference) The Information, 2026-01-21 (paywalled; public metadata) company / paid-product GM "subtracting inference costs and other costs of selling its products" STATED
OpenAI "compute margin … 70% as of October" The Information, 2025-12-21 paid-user compute margin = (paid-user revenue − paid-user inference cost) / paid-user revenue chart note, verbatim STATED
OpenAI "adjusted gross margin … 33% in 2025 … 46% forecast" The Information, 2026-02-24 company-wide "adjusted GM" = revenue − inference cost, over revenue; training reported separately reproduced definition STATED
"frontier lab inference margins are like 40–50% … Anthropic labels cloud provider commissions as a sales and marketing expense" @fleetingbits, 2026-07-04 company GM used as a proxy for inference economics; the S&M-classification claim is unverified none OUR READING
"Assuming the leasing cost of one H800 GPU is $2 per hour … cost profit margin of 545%" DeepSeek, 2025-03-01 (official disclosure) rental-inclusive unit serving by construction (an assumed lease rate is the cost basis); 545% is profit/cost, 84.5% the margin on theoretical list revenue explicit STATED
"DeepSeek's gross margin from selling v4 API access is … 70% to 80%" The Information via @jingyanghk, 2026-07-15 API-product gross margin, cost basis undisclosed — not company GM none OUR READING
"Anthropic's gross margins of roughly 44%" / "$0.71 on computing power per dollar of revenue" PitchBook / Morningstar, 2026-06-10/16 company GM estimate (the 44% matches the projected Q2 cut) method indicator only IMPLIED
"$2.60 per GPU-hour (weighted average lease rate)"; "$5B of spend → $15B of ARR"; "NVIDIA share nearly 50%" @jukan05 relays, 2026-05-09 / 07-10 / 07-11 a rental datum; a spend-to-ARR multiple; a fleet share — none is a margin STATED (object)

4. The owner's reading, verdict by analyst

Analyst Verdict (both arms) What this page says from now on
SemiAnalysis Refuted as a blanket attribution; confirmed per citation. The Anthropic-specific figures (the $1.60/TPU-hr, the Opus "north of 80%") are rental-inclusive; but SemiAnalysis is dual-basis by design — InferenceMAX/InferenceX price $/M from owned TCO, the TPUv7 article runs owned-TCO for the bought racks and rental-inclusive for the rented ones, and its company-GM series is an accounting object "SemiAnalysis's basis varies by analysis; this citation uses [rental-inclusive / operator-ownership TCO / throughput only / company financials], as stated in the source."
TeorTaxes Refuted for the own-GPU reading of the $4 post; undetermined for the 90→95 batch remark. He never mentions owned GPUs; his only cost anchor is an H100 spot rental price, and the Opus figure is "math for DeepSeek" extending that chain. The batch remark is a separate, earlier post about "every western provider" — the site's key-findings line had fused the two "$4/1Mt: best read as DeepSeek-anchored, rental-priced arithmetic; exact rate unstated. 90→95 via batch: basis not stated by the source; shown under both bases."
Zephyr Undetermined for 90–95% (unit at list price, basis never stated); confirmed company GM for ~70%. The Jul-8 post says xAI is not doing it and names no lab; the Jun-24 post does name Anthropic/OpenAI ("serve tokens at 5x the current price (95% GM)") — so the allegation is lab-specific in his own words, but its basis still is not "basis not stated by the source; shown under both bases. A separate post puts Anthropic's company gross margin at ~70%."
The Information not applicable to the hypothesis — three different accounting cuts (company/product GM; paid-user compute margin; company-wide adjusted GM) with explicitly different numerators and denominators the definitions above, verbatim, and never one unlabelled "reported margin" series
@fleetingbits a company-GM-as-proxy argument resting on an unverified expense-classification claim label as company GM; present the S&M claim as his
DeepSeek Confirmed rental-inclusive by construction "$2/H800-hour lease basis (an assumption in DeepSeek's own words); 545% profit/cost = 84.5% margin on theoretical list revenue; the owned-TCO version would replace the lease rate with DeepSeek's undisclosed TCO"

So the divergence is not different analysts disagreeing about one margin. It is different sources switching among four objects — a rented-hour token margin, an owned-TCO token margin, a cohort contribution margin, and company or product accounting GM — and the same source (SemiAnalysis) legitimately using more than one. The two cards on the front page exist so that the first two can be seen side by side; the rest must stay labelled as what they are.

5. Corrections to the main page queued by this verification

  1. "this corpus does not establish that the 90–95% allegation is Anthropic-specific" (§1 passage on Zephyr) — contradicted by his 2026-06-24 post ("adopt Anthropic/OAI tactics … (95% GM)"); the page should say the allegation IS lab-specific in his words and that its basis is what remains unstated.
  2. "Anthropic turned its first gross profit in Q2 (June 2026)" (RAISE update) — the only retrievable text is a session summary; it conflicts with SemiAnalysis's own written record (38% inference GM in 2025, "mid 60s" by 2026-05-27, "Operating Income profitable in 2Q after adjusting for stock-based compensation") and with Patel on the Sequoia podcast ("net income profitable excluding stock-based compensation"). Relabel as an unverified summary-level claim or drop the "first gross profit" phrase.
  3. "~30% (late 2025) to ~55% today … ~50% to ~65%" — only the endpoints (~55%, ~65%) appear in the retrievable summary; the starting points were found in no source by either arm. Cite them or drop them (The Information's 33% is a different, "adjusted" cut and cannot stand in for "~30%").
  4. The Opus "north of 80%" citation can be upgraded from "quoted-secondary" to the Sequoia transcript, which specifies the object ("for the API price", on an Opus token) and the rent framing.
  5. The −94% / 38% / mid-60s series should carry SemiAnalysis's own label ("inference gross margins" — a business line's GM, not a unit figure).
  6. Two Zephyr posts in the corpus ("75–80% GM", 2026-06-27) answer a reply about CXMT, not Anthropic; nothing on the page may derive an Anthropic figure from them.
  7. The site's key-findings line "TeorTaxes: Serving Opus ≤ $4/1Mt, 90→95% via batch" fuses two posts; record them separately with their bases as above.
  8. DeepSeek V4 "70–80%" is an API-product margin with an undisclosed cost basis, not "company-side".

These are queued for the release-notes pass (tranche 5) because they move pinned front-page bytes; the research page above is the record until then.

6. Method and provenance

Brief: im-arc/dives/analyst-basis-brief.md (seven questions; the page's fifteen cited passages and the prior draft attached as content). GPT Pro arm: broker request pr-20260823T020913Z-d0fe55, gpt-5-6-pro, 2026-08-23, full report archived as im-arc/dives/analyst-basis-gptpro.md. Fable arm: im-arc/dives/analyst-basis-fable.md, 2026-08-23, WebSearch/WebFetch/Brave (Exa out of credits — stated), X posts via the fxtwitter mirror with UTC timestamps. Convergence: every verdict above is shared by both arms; the only differences were coverage (the Fable arm surfaced the 2026-06-24 Zephyr post and the CXMT contamination; the Pro arm supplied the InferenceX/Rubin method statements, The Information's chart-note definitions and the PitchBook cut) and the 67.6%-row rounding (Pro: 84.6% at exact inputs). Two X posts and one Morgan Stanley note could not be retrieved by either arm and are labelled accordingly. SP-real-terms-comparisons: no dollar comparison across years is made on this page.